PaleoSleeping

What happened to all that energy I had last week? Autumn hits the far north/south far harder than it impacts those closer to the Equator. I’m not ready to be cold again: the heat didn’t bake last winter out of my bones. I remember another recent Vermont autumn that brought this same fear of winter, due to the same sequence of a long, deeply-cold winter, followed by a cool summer that showed no stamina resisting autumn’s winds and shadows. I was more active then, and it didn’t help; an eight-hour day is supposed to refer to work, not light. With any luck this cycle will pan out like that one did, with lots of heat and light the following summer.

Of course, my spirits aren’t just subdued by the autumn. My wife just fell getting out of the shower. Always terrifying. She hit her head; how hard? She might have scraped her back; what does that look like? (Both seem sort of okay). She’ll need help getting off the floor; how much will it be? Can I do what she needs?

She got herself up pretty well, I dried her as fast as I could, and now she’s listening from her glider as Derek Jeter plays out the last of his illustrious career. Football scores crawl beneath the panorama of batter, pitcher, and field boxes. Jeter has played hard, but the Yankees will need a miracle to play into October.

She was an athlete all her life, my wife was. Time and again we rely on the training of her muscles, the daily-nurtured determination to beat back physical challenge with grit and grip and a body that knows how to find its hidden reservoirs of strength. Today too many kids spend too much time with screens and chairs, too much bad food, too few opportunities to play team sports. What will they do when they get old? If my wife hadn’t done all that basketball and sailing, if I hadn’t spent my twenties doing yoga in my parents’ living room, if my mom hadn’t taken us all for swimming lessons at the Y, and is still doing her own water aerobics at 85 — well, all I can say is, we’d be beat. Beat. Not by the Huntington’s Disease, but by not knowing how to fight off the premature autumn it wants to wrap around our ambitions.

Time to hang the Halloween flag. And this weekend, they say, we might have one last shot at eighty.

Leave a Reply

