Predatory Blogging

Got your attention with that title?

All that means is that currently the discipline of blogging — upgrading, reframing, renewing, reconnecting — seems to have eaten all other responsibilities. Here are some miscellaneous observations from inside the belly of this whale:

1) It’s still all about the covenanting: while I hope to write things that people outside my religion can appreciate, it’s too late to change the place I live, the position from which I write. So, should I be starting a separate blog for my social science wonkiness, or is social justice stuff of such interest to so many UUs that it’s part of our very polity? There are bloggers I respect who go both ways: separate strands for the highly focused, and narrative of conscience for the large of heart. The ones that appeal to me most are the media clusters of Reverends Naomi King and Gary Kowalski, but both of them are blessed with the time and financial opportunity to put more time into such things. That doesn’t mean they don’t work hard, it just refers to the way they are able to integrate their work into their blogging excellence. Right now, stuck at home as a caregiver, I’m not sure I can do those things.

2) I tried to use the old Facebook site UU Bloggers to find a list of good reads, and it closed at a time which left a lot of folks behind. I’ve now gotten UUpdater onto my following list. Other recommendations welcomed.

3) WordPress users, could you please tell me how to separate my “blogs I’m following” list by topics. Some days I just want to be a daoist and spiritual, other days I have two thesauri and a dictionary by my side.

4) What else am I missing?

Leave a Reply

